Ramblings of a Home Server User

March 12, 2007

Are you having problems with Office Documents?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tom @ 4:49 pm

I was having problems opening my Office documents from my Home Server, so I filed a bug against it and the response I got back was to check that the proper permissions were being assigned. I checked my server and found that ownership of the files were not being assigned to my user account. So if you are having problems try copying the file to the share and then right clicking on the file and opening properties. On the properties page go to the Security tab, click Advanced and then go to the Owner tab and then highlight your user account and then click Apply and OK. You should now be able to open your documents. Please e-mail me at homeserverblog@gmail.com letting me know if this works or not.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

